Viet Nam Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.0
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  3.6
 Location  4.2
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  3.8
 Food / Dining  3.6
 Total  3.8

"Old Quarter Hanoi in comfort"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Siwak M. of sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   May 6, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2010     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
First thing to say - this hotel is in the old quarter in Hanoi. The old quarter is dirty, noisy, permanently busy - crazy. So if you're looking for a standard western hotel experience, you won't find it in the old quarter - but staying at Gia Thinh you get a pretty good level of comfort and have the old quarter literally on the door step.

We had a pretty noisy and party focussed group of 9 and the staff put up with the nonsense amiably. Some of the staff sleep on the floor in the lobby and I wouldn't have been quite as easy going as they were to have to keep opening the doors at hourly intervals during the night and morning to let drunken party-goers hop off their mopeds and into the hotel.

Rooms are clean, have

"Quo Vadis"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Bart V. of Voorschoten, Netherlands
Reviewed:   December 23, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
If you do not mind a bell boy who only wants to receive for each activity a tip, and a room for breakfast that is underfurnished and where is no restaurant or gym or so, then you have quite a nice spacious room to stay your nights.

"Gia Thinh Hotel - simply the best!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   John W. of Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewed:   August 16, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed here in March and found it to be the ideal place to stay. The room was very comfortable with in-room computer, the breakfast wonderful (fresh mango juice), the staff the best in Vietnam by far! I've booked already for Feb '09 - this must be the best bargain in Hanoi.

"The worst hotel in Hanoi."

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Sadhu B. of Bankok, Thailand
Reviewed:   April 7, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My friend and I had just come off a 12 hour overnight bus ride and were super exhausted and felt dirty. All we needed was a bed and shower. When we first arrived, we were greeted and given a bed after only waiting a few minutes. (we arrived at 7am, even though check-in is after 12pm). YAY! The bed, however, just looked "made" and not new sheets... i didn't care at this point. We went into the bathroom to freshen up and there were signs on the toilet saying "NOT WORK"... the I tried the shower, and that was down too. We waited till about 2 pm until we could use the water. That was the only issue we had at this place. The hostel was quite nice, but not at all an Asian feel-- more aussie as it states on the website. The people/staff were friendly. The staff helped my friend book excursions, me a taxi to the airport, and passed on messages to us that we got from our travel agent. I'd stay there again. Although, for price, I had seen many guesthouses in the same area for $8-$10 for a private room. I found the beer to be priced higher than usual too--- takes the fun factor down a little :)

All in All, the staff was good but rooms were small and dirty so NO RECOMMEND.

"Great New hotel!"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Gary J. of Neyork, United States
Reviewed:   April 1, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hostelearth.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stayed here 3 nights; rooms was nice and very clean. Staff were very helpful and kind. Internet and fresh fruit were free in all rooms. Breakfast was nice and tasty. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




VietNamInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us