Viet Nam Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.2
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.2
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.4
 Food / Dining  4.4
 Total  4.4

"“2 Star Hotel Close to Hoan Kiem Lake”"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Teeratn C. of Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed:   February 29, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed here on a family trip to Vietnam for 2 days. The hotel to include the rooms are decorated with great artwork and modern decor (e.g. wood floor, armoire, etc.). We stayed in rooms 601 and 602. The choice room of 701 has a large veranda where you can view the city of Hanoi. Although the view isn't all that great--you see rooftops more than anything else, it was a neat experience just the same.

The rooms were clean and the price alright. We paid about $30 per night per room. By Vietnam standards, $30 is a little expensive.

The front desk staff and bellhop provided excellent service. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and was very knowledgable about the area. She spoke English which helped. The bellhop carried our bag up a flight of stairs (since the elevator only goes up to the 5th floor and we had rooms on the 6th) and that wasn't an easy task as we had about 5 large suitcases between all of us.

The hotel is in a great location, about 2-3 blocks away from Hoan Kiem Lake and plenty of shops. Hoan Kiem Lake is gorgeous and you'll see tons of people stopping here to enjoy the scenery. And if you love to shop, you'll have plenty of choices (e.g. artwork, clothes, handbags, sunglasses, food, etc.).

The only complaint we had was the water temperature in Room 701 was too hot. No matter how we adjusted it, it was simply too hot to take a comfortable shower.

Overall, the experience was positive and I would recommend staying here.

"“Amazing staff and location”"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   David W. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   February 26, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
"Personally i thought that this was a great hotel! Yes i had to book direct with the hotel but they answered my emails within a few hours. This is one of the new breed of boutique hotels and although some things are 'still in progress' they are doing a fabulous job. The staff are friendly and really helpful and the hotel is beautifully decorated with contemporary art. I have only two minus points, one is the lack of lifts but this is only a problem when arriving or leaving with your vastly overweight baggage or late at night when you have had a few!. The other thing is that if everyone decides to have breakfast at the same time then you may not get a table until one is vacated. Other than that this hotel will be on my first place to book list the next time i go to Hanoi!"

"The only good thing is the location!! Rat in our room!"

User Rating:  2.1
Reviewer:   Elizabeth F. of South Australia, Australia
Reviewed:   February 19, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hotel is not what it says in its advertising! We were very disappointed. Its about 6 am amd I am sitting in the foyer of the 24 hour reception with the clerk asleep and snoring! We had an univited guest in our room of the 'rat' kind (it woke us at 3.30am scampering around) and so best thought we pack and get outta here!

There are many lovely hotels in Hanoi and this is not one of them. My family and I have done 5 trips to Vietnam between us and this is the first dodgy one we have had.

I recommend that if you are booking over the internet then book just one night and then see what it is like. Its easy to move.

"“Good value for your money”"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Micheal P. of Victoria, Australia
Reviewed:   February 17, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
4 friends and I have just returned from spending 6 nights in the Old DSarling hotel II in Hanoi. This little hotel is rated as the best in Hanoi for good reason. The hotel has everything you'd expect from a 3 star hotel and more. It is in a great location on Trung Yen - Dinh Liet in the heart of the Old Quarter. It is very clean, the rooms are quite large and all of the little details that are so often overlooked in 3 star asian hotels were well tended to - from daily room servicing to polite and helpful staff, a simple but ample included daily breakfast, free internet, cable TV etc etc. For $220 per night for a double it was the easily the best hotel we stayed in during 4 weeks in Cambodia and Vietnam. I give them a big thumbs up!

"“family friendly”"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Theraporn M. of Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed:   January 7, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I travelled to vietnam for three weeks with my family of 4 including children aged 9 and 12. Old Darling was our first hotel and became the benchmark by which we judged all others. The free pick up from the airport was perfect and saved the hassle of negotiating a price. Rooms were exceptionally clean and well appointed, But the real bonus was the staff. They were the friendliest and most helpful of any we me in the country. Nothing seemed too much for them and they accomodated our family at all stages. Perfect location to everything and yet quite enough to get a good night sleep!


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




VietNamInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us